YouTube Gem: Numbers in Action

My friend, colleague, and current Hip-Hop dance instructor Abby Zbikowski (more on the class soon) has been playing a number of songs this term that are really hype, and after this one had been in my head all day, I decided to use are good friend Google and track (no pun intended, actually) it down.

I just wanted to listen to it, but turns out it has a kind of rad, though subtle, music video. Check it out:

I think what I like about it is it’s self-reflexivity and that it’s not taking itself to seriously. I also LOVE repetition, so I dig that here. My one critique is that it does look a wee bit like ‘fun with Final-Cut’ but actually even with all of the editing tricks I still was surprised/interested for the duration.

Fave moment, probably: seeing him jump through the blocks. You know it’s gonna happen, but you can’t exactly gauge when, so there was a great kinesthetic unease/excitement waiting for it. OOH. Also, the sign “this is just a music video.” Interesting, right? I think any of us in the biz of talking about representation would say that nothing is “just” anything…but there’s something nice about that assertion.

The directors, the collaboration Us have a graphic design background, no big surprise there once you know! It’s got great design, especially in its attention to font, color, and spacing.

…I wanna see $$$$ I wanna see ££££…

About readymadebouquet

Twenty-something dance scholar, dancer, linguist/langophile, poet, and amateur fashonista, in the process of getting my PhD in Dance Studies, and lovin' every second of it. This blog will reflect the multiplicity of my inspirations and creations. View all posts by readymadebouquet

One response to “YouTube Gem: Numbers in Action

Leave a Reply

