Kuduro Conference!

Wanted to notify my readers interested in Kuduro or global popular dance in general of an exciting conference coming up that will be the first looking at the development of Kuduro music, dance, and broader cultural implications and connections. The conference will be held May 23-26 in Luanda, Angola.

The theme is “KUDURO, PATRIMÓNIO ANGOLANO PARA A  ÁFRICA E O MUNDO: Conhecer para valorizar” –‘Kuduro, an Angolan Heritage for Africa and  the World: Knowing in order to value’*

Read more and see the Call for Papers at their blog: http://www.conferenciakuduro.blogspot.com/ (in Portuguese)

For those of you who don’t know very much about Kuduro, I encourage you to look at my Encyclopedia of Kuduro and watch some of the videos linked in the entries there. Because it is a dance and music form developed in the poorest areas of a third world country, it’s exciting to see a conference organized around it, and hopefully this will just be the first of many for developing forms in developing nations. I don’t think I’ll be able to go, mostly for logistical and safety reasons, but I hope it gets a good turn out. If anyone ends up going or hearing more about it, let me know!

 

*sorry for my inelegant translations, my Portuguese is not very nuanced

 

About readymadebouquet

Twenty-something dance scholar, dancer, linguist/langophile, poet, and amateur fashonista, in the process of getting my PhD in Dance Studies, and lovin' every second of it. This blog will reflect the multiplicity of my inspirations and creations. View all posts by readymadebouquet

Leave a Reply

